Could they be the same one sent twice? I think that when you send a pm to someone who isn't online at the time, it gets saved in the "Outbox" directory until the person logs in and a notice is sent. However, the sender can go into this directory and delete it. So you may get a notice but never receive a PM.
I THINK that's how it works. Don't take my word for it.